More layers, a non-traditional approach

I am using katazome tools and materials in a non-traditional way with this piece. I have added paste and and dye layers, approaching it a bit like a painting but more backward and indirect. It will get 3 or possibly 4 more layers before I set it aside. In the beginning I drew out the composition, and had a sense of what stencils I would make and incorporate, but I did not plan the precise order of how various layers would come together. One part planning, two parts seat-of-my-pants, kind of like life.
Here I’ve pasted a new stencil based inspired by Meadow Rue leaves in my garden.

pasting over a newsprint mask

p

the stencil removed
meadow rue leaves 
Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

6 thoughts on “More layers, a non-traditional approach”

  1. Great things going on here! Can’t wait to see the beauty that is hidden under all the layers.Kit,are you enjoying this non-traditional approach to Katazome/working by the seat-of-your-pants?

  2. @Annie B, thanks!@ Shari, thanks for the visit! Yes, I am enjoying myself here. We’ll see how it goes over the next month — I’ll be making several more pieces with a similar approach.

  3. yes, i’m quite engaged in this building of layers and look forward to the element of surprise after I wash out all the rice paste!

Leave a Reply

