Interlude: Weaving with cloth

I’m taking an online workshop from Jude Hill of Spiritcloth, learning something about her innovative approach to weaving cloth from other cloth. It’s a freeing experience for me and such a contrast from my rather structured katazome routine. I really enjoy how quickly these pieces of cloth come together. As I tear strips and weave I am loosening up my thinking. Here are my first few attempts.

anchored weaving 1

These little woven pieces also stimulate my own daydreaming. In the piece above I can see ….

a favorite sateen shirt from 30 years ago
limpets gathered on Galway Bay on the west coast of Ireland
magenta gladiolas from our August garden (which dyed the silk a light green)
a cloth “palette” I use to test color and off-load my brush when dyeing katazome
an edge of a work called “my sister’s house” …

which of course immediately transports me to my sister’s woodsy place with the salty breezes near the coast of Maine.

rustcloth
anchored weaving with cotton and silk

I used the little stones as weights for one part of the process but I really like how they look on this piece!

one more…

anchored weaving 2
anchored weaving on indigo dyed wool base, silk, cotton, linen
Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

6 thoughts on “Interlude: Weaving with cloth”

  1. p.s. The online class format is really engaging — lots of video, photos, and interaction. I highly recommend it!

  2. Not quite the same thing, but I once made a rug out of old clothes and it was surprisingly meaningful to look at it and feel all the memories from the fabrics come floating to mind. These are lovely.

  3. I love the indigo and peach piece — seems to be a work on its own.These weavings give the same feeling as I have digging through a box of scraps for a certain color, finding things all three sisters have sewn, a childhood dress of my daughter’s, a fabric our mother loved…
    Nice work!

Leave a Reply

