A gift to self

Across the threshold of this new year I found time and space to bring this cloth, long in the making, near completion. Some elements that have long sought a home have found one.

Arranging squares yesterday – pure pleasure – I thought of how the strips and swatches of fabric hold memory in a tactile, visceral, yet gentle form. Maybe that is the allure of cloth for me. There is also a conversation. The cloth talks to me and to my many teachers.

I found some handkerchief weight linen that will make a nice backing for this. Before winter is over I will cover up with it and daydream.

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

3 thoughts on “A gift to self”

  1. Thank you, jude! The class I took from you in 2011 or was it 2010 just keeps on giving! This is one of the most satisfying pieces I have put together.

  2. Such a beautiful blog, Kit. Love the quilt with cat showcasing the indigo work! And "Glimpse" is just stunning! Like a stained-glass window and very musical!

Leave a Reply

