Goings on …

in the studio

I’m getting back into the studio finally after starting a new job this
fall. I thought these (below) were going to be napkins for the household
(estate sale vintage linen damask) but they are turning into something
far more interesting – don’t know what yet. Started with ecoprint
bundles around my favorite fall leaves simmered in madder; then painted
some natural pigments on that … followed by a rice paste layer of my
water stencil, using some thin tracing paper as a mask. More pigment
layers and curing to come.

My daily walks along the shore frequently appear into my work.

along the shore

From December 6 – January 15th I will be in a 3-person show in a pop-up/window gallery in downtown Minneapolis. You can find the details of the show by clicking the postcard image, below.

Materiality show postcard

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

Leave a Reply

