Subtle November color

Today is a misty day down at the pond, with subtle November colors under a gray sky.

mistyshore
misty shore
mossonash
moss on ash tree
blackwillow
black willow, native to this area

 

I see these colors reflected in the silk and wool from my latest (and likely my last until next year) leaf bundle experiment. I had collected so many leaves I couldn’t see my work table. So I bundled them in silk and wool strips. The wool was treated first with alum. The silk had been soy sized some months ago. Simmering them in onion skin extract gave lovely rust colored edges.

riverbircheco
River Birch and Japanese Maple on wool (with onion skin edges)
oakeco
White Oak and Swamp White Oak on wool
misceco
Black Willow and Black Chokeberry on silk
rosablandaeco
Smooth Wild Rose on silk

The thrilling ecoprint process (as developed then shared “whirled”-wide by India Flint) transforms the fleeting beauty of these leaves to something we can savor over time.  I’ll add the strips to my personal quilt weaving, started long ago (a technique learned from Jude Hill of Spiritcloth).

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

9 thoughts on “Subtle November color”

  1. Velma, yes I imagine we share many of the same trees, shrubs, flora, and fauna here at northern latitudes East of the Mississippi (me just barely east).

Leave a Reply

