Breathing space

There is nothing stretched and waiting in my studio today. I hung up my rabbit-moon-greens work to cure. I really enjoy this breathing space. The soy protein in the fabric does too, and needs this time to oxidize and lock the colors in.

I am also soaking the paste off some work that has been curing for several weeks.

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

5 thoughts on “Breathing space”

  1. I had no idea the paste stayed on the fabric so long!The Textile Blog today had a great post on pattern repeat- as I read it, I thought of your rabbits & greens & moons- I’ve always been fascinated by pattern repeat and I’m beginning to see there’s a lot more to the design work & development than I ever realized.
    Can’t wait to see those colors unveiled!
    .-= deb´s last blog ..Inverted pleats =-.

  2. I had no idea the paste stayed on the fabric so long!The Textile Blog today had a great post on pattern repeat- as I read it, I thought of your rabbits & greens & moons- I’ve always been fascinated by pattern repeat and I’m beginning to see there’s a lot more to the design work & development than I ever realized.
    Can’t wait to see those colors unveiled!
    .-= deb´s last blog ..Inverted pleats =-.

  3. Yes, I saw the post on repeat as well. I always learn so much from that blog! The paste could stay on even longer if I had the patience and time, but even after wash-out the soy will continue to cure, according to my teacher John Marshall.

Leave a Reply

