Stencil progress; Japanese textile treasures

I’m about mid-way through carving my new rabbit-with-moon-and-greens stencil. Must take breaks to stretch the shoulders. I enjoy the challenge of designing repeats, but my next several designs will be simpler, non-repeating motifs. (I wreally wrestled w/this wrabbit!)

bunnies1

Last Friday I visited a yard sale given by local moku hanga (Japanese woodblock) printmaker Jean Shannon and potter Lee Love. Lee and Jean spent 10 years in Mashiko Japan studying and working. The yard sale was overflowing with textiles and other items from their time in Japan. I bought a couple of lovely vintage treasures — a silk kanoko shibori kimono and a linen katazome runner, indigo dyed.

shibori

iris

I also stopped by Jean and Lee’s exhibit at Raymond Gallery in St. Paul. Jean’s prints depict Japanese toys, symbols, and scenery in bright colors. The colorful prints and earthy wood and soda-ash fired pots worked very well together! You will be able to see some photos of the show here. I look forward to seeing more of both of their work when we all participate in the Art at St. Kate’s show on July 11th!

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

2 thoughts on “Stencil progress; Japanese textile treasures”

  1. oh, they aren’t in Japan any more??? I think i bought some books from Jean on tell and sell Japan…. i guess she sold them because she was leaving!!!! I can’t even imagine the fabulous treasures they would have at a garage sale… it must have been amazing!!!! I love that katazome runner!!! If you ever want to work out a trade……
    That woodcarving of rabbits is very impressive…. I bought some fabulous wood carving chisels and look at them sometimes, when ever i get the urge to try some woodcarving, i end up gouging and seriously injuring my fingers, so the urges occur less and less often!

  2. hi Jan — wow it is indeed a small world! I will mention this conversation to Jean next time I see her….Since I have very few Japanese textiles I probably will hang on to these! 🙂
    The rabbits are not a woodblock — this is a stencil for my katazome work. It is cut from shibugami, the special layered, persimmon treated, smoked paper that is traditionally used for katazome stencils. The paper smells wonderful, and is a dark, smoky ginger color, not unlike wood! I use an exacto knife to carve it. Much easier than wood, but also easy to trip up! I haven’t cut myself … yet…

Leave a Reply

