The Redwings are back

The Redwing Blackbirds are singing earlier than usual.

Cattails with morning sun…

Ice shrinking…

So far, the only minnows I’ve seen are the ones coming out of my studio. This piece approx 24×60. I wanted to try 2-colors (instead of 4). My friend Maddy, who can’t get enough indigo these days, would like to see dark indigo minnows on a lighter indigo background. I think I’ll try that next.

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

5 thoughts on “The Redwings are back”

Leave a Reply

