180 nails later …

I’ve conquered procrastination (just this once) and have made a 40″ long set of “harite” (Japanese fabric clamps for katazome). Each set I make gets longer. I started with 20″ wide. This set will allow me to stretch fabric up to 36″ wide.

harite

Every Sunday evening I make a little plan in my head a

bout what I want to accomplish during the week with my artwork. Reality often doesn’t exactly match this little plan, so I’m often behind. I stretched and soy sized two lengths of fabric this morning, and made rice paste.

I’m also thinking about color palettes. I made this test of the natural pigments (using the pigments straight out of the jar mixed with soybean milk) on a natural flax color linen/cotton blend. That vermilion really makes my heart beat!

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

9 thoughts on “180 nails later …”

  1. I work in my basement, which has concrete walls. It also has 6×6 posts in the middle of the space. I’ve attached aluminum handles (from the home box stores) to the concrete and to the posts. I stretch between these and also sometimes from the clothesline beyond the post. Here are a couple more posts where I describe this setup.http://www.kiteastman.com/wordpress/2009/03/23/studio-improvements-tool-making-fabric-stretching/ and
    http://www.kiteastman.com/wordpress/2010/01/20/liking-the-new-arrangement/
    I look forward to working outside this summer!

  2. I work in my basement, which has concrete walls. It also has 6×6 posts in the middle of the space. I’ve attached aluminum handles (from the home box stores) to the concrete and to the posts. I stretch between these and also sometimes from the clothesline beyond the post. Here are a couple more posts where I describe this setup.http://www.kiteastman.com/wordpress/2009/03/23/studio-improvements-tool-making-fabric-stretching/ and
    http://www.kiteastman.com/wordpress/2010/01/20/liking-the-new-arrangement/
    I look forward to working outside this summer!

Leave a Reply

