Completed katazome paper

I’m happy with the results of my katazome on paper experiment. I painted 3 coats of soy-based natural pigments using a very dry brush. I let the paper dry between each coat. After several days I let it soak for approx. 10 minutes in my bathtub, one sheet at a time. I drained the water out, and gently sprayed the paper to wash away the last bits of resist. Finally, I let the paper dry in the open air on top of sheets newspaper. Gentle handling is necessary. I plan a trip to the  hardware store next weekend and I should be able to complete this project. I’m following instructions from the book,  Paper Illuminated by Helen Hiebert.

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

7 thoughts on “Completed katazome paper”

  1. Thanks, Annie. I used a paper called “Moriki,” which is over 90% kozo, from Wet Paint Art in St. Paul. The size of the sheet is approx. 25×39, and it cost approx. $8.50.

  2. p.s. See my resources section for a link to Wet Paint. They have a wonderful paper selection, especially for printmaking, and stock some extremely fine handmade kozo papers, which they purchase wholesale from the Japanese Paper Place in Toronto.

  3. I LOVE the results of your “experiment”!!! It’s such a beautiful design and oooh the coloring.Are you going to use this piece for the folded blind? If so,I hope you you will let us follow you in the process AND see how it looks after it has been installed.

  4. hi Shari, yes I’ll be making a folded blind… one of these weekends! 🙂 I will put the results up as well!

Leave a Reply

