June 6, D-day, B-day

My mother’s brother Joseph William Thornton enlisted in the 82nd Airborne, 505th PIR (Parachute Infantry Regiment) when he was 19 years old. He jumped into Normandy on June 16, 1944, according to the Purple Heart presented to my grandparents. My mother used to talk about how Joe loved the woods of Michigan’s upper peninsula where he would go camping with his best friend, and about how he wouldn’t shoot a deer, though his buddies were hunters. She said that the song of the Mourning Dove always reminded her of Joe. Since mom connected the memory of Joe with the dove, I always think of him when I hear that soft, mournful coo, most prevalent here in early June.

Joseph W. Thornton
Joseph W. Thornton
by Joe, November 15, 1934
by Joe, November 15, 1934

44 years later, my son Ross was born on June 6th, 3 weeks ahead of his due date, his birth reinforcing that this date will never be just an average day to me! He turns 21 today, a fine young man making his way in the world!

Ross on Quilt
Ross on Quilt

zzzzzzzz…….

SkySunpoem

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

4 thoughts on “June 6, D-day, B-day”

  1. ‘Lest We Forget’ – a tribute of Pride and Honour for those who gave of their lives.

    We all owe a debt of gratitude and should never forget their sacrifice for the freedom we all hold dear.

    Deeply moving post – thank you for sharing.

  2. connection of death & life. The continuum. My friend the poet open to these connections. Very nice. So is the runner.

    I like the little baby burrito. I remember that quilt!

    I’m thinking a visit to the arboretum next week….so much to do, so many to see, so little time….

  3. It is fascinating how some dates become “family” dates-for you June 6th, for me the 23rd of several different months. There’s a great deal on the news here about D Day this year-for many of the veterans this will be their last chance to remember brave young men like your uncle, lost 65years ago.

  4. Beautiful story about your mother’s brother and the connection with your son. You reminded me on a busy day that life is very mysterious.

Leave a Reply

