Happy May!

Yesterday the 35th annual May Day Parade and Festival was held in Minneapolis, a creation of the Heart of the Beast Puppet and Mask Theater. This event inaugurates spring for many a Minnea-politan, and the day was glorious. After the parade, people enjoy a spring pageant in nearby Powderhorn Park.

A hillside quilt of blankets awaits bodies for the May Day Pageant.
A hillside quilt of blankets awaits bodies for the May Day Pageant.

A few more photos from my curbside vantage point….

Worm puppets
Worm puppets
Amazing bear puppets!
Amazing bear puppets!
Puppet
Puppet
Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

5 thoughts on “Happy May!”

  1. fantastic day-me too-wish i was there. looks like so much fun!
    thanks for posting this and for wishing me off- gave me a chance to pop over here and see what you’ve been up to.

Leave a Reply

