Repeat Design Learning

This week I began pasting two table runner designs, as I had planned. Frustrations and learning followed. Designing repeats is a fascinating challenge, as is pasting them. One of the designs I created contains too much open area. It’s the one in the lower area of the photo below, a minnow repeat. I wanted to design something that would be fairly quick, as well as fun, to dye, and not too fussy to line up (register). It fits these criteria but has other problems. I struggled with the consistency of the paste, and the stencil pulled away from the netting while lifting the stencil due to the narrow curved areas and perhaps problems with the lacquering. At the very least I will need to re-lacquer it, and probably re-design it.

Runner close-up
Runner close-up

With the other repeat, which I designed as a four-way repeat based upon my little garden species Tulips, I am trying simple graduated stripes of indigo and teal as well as a three color treatment. As I test the marketplace with some of these katazome works in a couple of weeks, I realize that the runners will most likely not be ready to show. The physical results of my efforts this week may become samples, quilt bits, or journal material. Oh well — this is necessary learning and practice. I often bite off more than I can chew when I begin a creative project, but made a promise to myself that I would say “yes” to showing work more often. I am learning to celebrate all the stages of completion within the creative process.

Pasted runners
Pasted runners

Mother Nature makes it look so easy.

Species Tulips May 1st 2009
Species Tulips May 1st 2009
Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

10 thoughts on “Repeat Design Learning”

  1. Now I have handled samples of your textiles, I begin to appreciate the difficulty and complexity of the process as well as admiring the beauty. I do like the minnows-and will be interested to watch developments.

  2. Im glad you are showing pictures of different parts ofthe process – it is fascinating.

  3. Registering can be difficult as can fine lines in the stencils – but I love what you are doing – definitely worth the trouble!

  4. Wow…I am amazed at the size of fabric you are working with.
    For an “easy” project this is intimidating. I’m impressed! I think your design is beautiful! Look forward to the finished project and showing us “bits” along the way is really fun.

  5. wow- great piece. gives me ideas for other things rattling around my head. i’ll keep you in mind on my trip-might see something to photograph that will inspire you back..

Leave a Reply

