Blue Heron Stencil

Today I finished cutting another new stencil. I just can’t get the Heron and Great White Egret out of my system. It’s one of the most dramatic birds I see frequently during the spring and summer months here. Here’s a photo of a Blue Heron I snapped last summer. The Great White Egret especially likes feeding in Lake Como. The open areas of the stencil allow the rice paste to flow through. The brown paper masks the fabric, so these areas will eventually be dyed with a variety of pigments. I will go for more simplicity in the next design!

heronstencil1.jpg
heron stencil © Kit Eastman

I like to look for inspiration before starting a new design. Green Chair Press recently highlighted a piece by Japanese/French artist Aoyama Hina who works in the medium of paper cutting. Her work is stunning. She uses a small scissors to create these works. I found this image in the set called Sentences on her Flickr Photostream.

Paper Cutting by Aoyama Hina
Paper Cutting by Aoyama Hina

I also find the work of the Cape Dorset Inuit printmakers inspiring. The artists work in stonecut, stencil, litho and etching. This print (image found on Glenbow Museum of Calgary, Alberta Website), is included in the book, Cape Dorset Prints by Leslie Boyd Ryan. The book tells the tale of this amazing printmaking community, which started in 1959.

Pot Spirits by Sheouak Petaulassie, 1960, Stencil
Pot Spirits by Sheouak Petaulassie, 1960, Stencil
Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

4 thoughts on “Blue Heron Stencil”

  1. I can only imagine how long it took to cut this stencil-and it is very beautiful before you use it in your fabric art.
    Aoyama Hina’s work is amazing, isn’t it? I love her cut heron on Flickr.

  2. threadspider, thank you for your comment — it did take some time. The shibugami is such a pleasure to work with — it cuts easily, yet is strong and smells wonderful. It’s all part of my love affair with materials, tools and process. I also enjoy the problem-solving part of working out a composition in which all parts must be connected to each other somehow. I can’t imagine cutting paper at the detail to which Aoyama Hina works, because my eyesight now requires trifocals! Wouldn’t it be amazing to observe her as she works with the scissors? I also enjoy how her pieces are suspended as objects, casting shadows, etc. The work is so mysterious and ephemeral.

  3. Amazing stencil, Kit! I love how your blog shows the path of your inspiration…..and educates. The fun is about to start with adding color to the mix!

  4. Wow! That is so clever!

    There is an Australian author who uses lino cuts to illustrate her books, Narelle Oliver, and I have always been in awe of her. I think to draw the designs would be challenging enough, but to carve them? Amazing.

    I really like your egret.

Leave a Reply

