Katazome Samples

I washed the rice paste out of my sample, and here are the results, along with a couple of photos from my Sunday walk through Reservoir Woods. With this process, there is virtually no pigment wash out. Amazing. I will go ahead and use this fabric for my next project. The soy milk, used before dyeing as a sizing and then as a binder with the (pigment) dyes, gives the fabric more body and makes it easier to iron when it wrinkles.

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

2 thoughts on “Katazome Samples”

  1. These are beautiful images, Kit. I think the one with ripples in the water is my favorite. I keep seeing a path in the water that pulls me in – or is it a shadow? Very intriguing either way.

  2. Hi Mary…thank you for your comments! I think the shadow on the water image may in fact be the shadow of me taking the picture, even though I tried not to block the light coming in from the window! :)- It is possible to create shadows and highlights with this technique. I hope to improve as I practice!

Leave a Reply

