Signs of Spring, New Stencil

I have been looking for signs of spring on my daily walk.

Could it be a sign?
Could it be a sign?

view to the northwest

view to the northwest

I’m working on some new stencils. Here’s the first one, purple coneflower. Cut from Shibugami paper, which smells delicious and cuts beautifully. Next step is lacquering the stencil per John Marshall’s non-toxic method. I will wait to lacquer until all my designs are ready. Today I make rice paste in preparation for some experiments on my chosen cloth.

 

coneflwr1
purple coneflower
Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

Leave a Reply

