Pink sunrise and indigo crystals

Sunrise up my road
Sunrise up my road

Two smallish pieces are in the works, one of which I will submit to the annual BirdxBird benefit and silent auction here in Minneapolis. (This event is the hippest art event I have ever participated in!) My posts this week trace the progress of this work. Thankfully I’m closer to completing these pieces than the posts indicate. I get more focused as a deadline approaches. Yea for deadlines!

I dyed some linen/cotton blend with freeze dried indigo crystals. The indigo isn’t as deep a value as I desired. I used a bucket inside a dishpan, replacing the water in the dishpan frequently to keep the temperature up. Stitched resist creates the line design. I Pulled the threads on one piece, which made air pockets. These need to be squished out before slipping the wet fabric into the vat. I’m a beginner with indigo.

the one with pulled up threads
the one with pulled up threads

one with flat stitching
one with flat stitching

Author: Kit

I’m a St. Paul MN visual artist, working in drawing, printmaking, and textile art.

2 thoughts on “Pink sunrise and indigo crystals”

  1. New header image! Is it also part of the indigo experiments, I wonder? I have never played with indigo although it is on my to do list, so it’s interesting to see how you are using it.

  2. Hi threadspider! I have very little experience with indigo but have been wanting to play more with natural dyes. It’s possible I’ll be going in that direction as the year progresses.

Leave a comment