My Sister’s House

This piece was included in my recent show at Unity Unitarian in St. Paul (May 2008). The inspiration was my sister’s lovely home in the woods near Deer Isle, Maine. I used a variety of techniques including rice paste resist through hand-cut stencils and found materials, large freezer paper stencils, block printing, etc. The work underwent 3-4 layers of dyes and pigments on the cotton ground. Size is 24″ x 43″.

My Sister\'s House
My Sister’s House © Kit Eastman
Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

Leave a Reply

