Experiments in Two Layers

I’m experimenting with 2-layered pieces. These are difficult to photograph because the lighting is so critical. I’m not 100% satisfied with the way these are presented; more ideas re: presentation are percolating in my imagination. The piece called “Symmetry” is part of a collaborative project curated by fiber artist Erika Mock. Erika has paired fiber artists and poets to collaborate on the theme of “Venus.” Participants will interpret this theme in many ways — I am contemplating the concept of beauty in nature, which is usually my inspiration and the source of my imagery. I am paired with Duluth poet Tera Freese. She has given me four lovely poems in exchange for Symmetry. (I will post them here along with completed artwork.) This summer each of us will create work in response to each other’s work. The show will be held in Superior, Wisconsin this coming September.

Matrix/Mourning Doves © Kit Eatman
Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

2 thoughts on “Experiments in Two Layers”

  1. I was reading you comment on The Ragged Cloth Cafe yesterday-I found it encouraging and thought provoking and when I checked your blog I saw your exquisite layered work. It is a theme I have just started thinking about and working with too. I am looking forward to seeing how your work with Tera Freese develops.

  2. Thank you for your comments. Working in layers presents some fascinating issues! Fabric as a medium can bring unique solutions. Good luck with your own work and check back in early to mid September to hear about the final show!

Leave a Reply

