November Clematis

My Clematis bloomed in November this year, an unusual happening in Minnesota. I plucked it before the frost had its way, placed the bloom in a glass bottle and then got my sketchpad.

The rose was a gift.

These are stencil prints  on hand-dyed cotton. I dyed the background fabric via a combination of immersion and screen print techniques using fiber-reactive dyes. Silk organza is layered and stitched to create the table surface.

Dimensions approx. 9″ x 11″

Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

Leave a Reply

