Insights

Here are a few observations related to my experiments with Katazome techniques on kozo paper.

  • Next time I will use the thickest possible kozo to minimize seepage through/under the paper.
  • I will also use a dryer brush!
  • The initial batch of soymilk seems to work best for painting because of its body (i.e. the milk resulting from the first spin of soybeans and water in the blender).
  • I am amazed by how the soymilk locks in the color — 30 minutes in a water bath did not wash out any of it! I am also amazed by the strength of this beautiful paper! I got it from Wet Paint. They get these papers from The Japanese Paper Place in Toronto.
  • All types of paint work well. The most saturated colors were achieved with the silk paint and the gouache; I have yet to try the dry natural pigments that I bought from John Marshall.
Author: Kit

I use the materials and techniques of the Japanese art of katazome (paste resist stencil dyeing) to capture my experience of nature. My work celebrates daily meetings with the wild birds, plants, and lake breezes of my local urban surroundings.

Leave a Reply

